Nikon F2 Photomic

Nikon F2 Photomic, said to be the most tough mechanical among professional SLR cameras ever made by Nikon corp. I have one in hand, although not excellent cosmetic condition but 100% working.

Nikon F2 Photomic + Nikkor 50/1.4 + SB-10

I bought this beautiful camera few months ago (2012) from kaskus.com trading forum, used, just IDR 650000 (around USD 70) for body (finder is included) only. Overall body condition are in fairly good condition, only a few scratch on bottom and slight wear marks. The DP-2 finder, as you can see on picture, more serious wear marks are visible. For some people maybe it’s a flaw but for me it’s just a gift of professional marks… heheh.

This bastard was delivered with missing soft shutter release (which is convenient for me) and PC terminal cap. Those two I bought from eBay together with the AS-1 flash coupler (which provides the hot shoe) for less than USD 40 in total. Ah ya,.. and also the Nikon SB-10 flash to give the complete vintage look. The yellow Nikon strap is a gift from a friend, I think it came from FM-10? not sure..

What I like the most from this F2 Photomic  is the huge view finder as well as interchangeable screen and finder. Also a plus for me is the light meter is extremely accurate! I use 2 LR44 batteries  to power the light meter. So far already few months and Ken Rockwell says can be many more months.

It supports ISO from 12 to 6400 and shutter speed from 1 to 1/2000 (1/80 for flash sync) and also B mode. The timer also works very well. And… here is the conclusion.. Regardless the weight, I would like to say that Nikon F2 Photomic is a great camera (for me).. and to be honest, I like the smell of this old camera.

Pictures taken with this camera can be found in my web album.

Tags: , , ,

About TheBlogIsNotEnough

DO NOT trust me

4 responses to “Nikon F2 Photomic”

  1. Jorel Zarklist says :

    Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it, you are a great author.I will ensure that I bookmark your blog and will come back down the road. I want to encourage you to continue your great posts, have a nice holiday weekend!

  2. learn software says :

    Thank you for every other fantastic post. The place else may
    just anyone get that kind of information in such an ideal means of writing?
    I have a presentation next week, and I am on the search for such info.

Leave a comment